PMRF/MWR Custom Car Show


Story and photos by Robert Purdy

Pacific Missile Range Facility Public Affairs Office

Pacific Missile Range Facility, Barking Sands, on Kauai welcomed hundreds of custom car fans from all across Kauai to the first Pacific Missile

Range Facility (PMRF)/Navy Morale Welfare and Recreation (MWR) “Custom Car Show” held Jan. 28 at PMRF.


The free and open-to-the-public event kicked off with the island’s best hot rods, race cars, classic cars, customized trucks, bikes and more. Live music by local bands “Familiar Sounds” and “Santiago and the Steps” filled the air as attendees enjoyed food and beverages, games, a bouncer for the kiddies and automotive product exhibits.

“Our Auto Skills Center manager, Steve Swacker, had the idea of a PMRF car show and he ran with the idea,” said Chip Kreisman, PMRF MWR director. “We do concerts and many fitness type events, but we have an interest in expanding our events to all possible areas of interest. The car show was a natural. Being the first car show
ever at PMRF we were concerned that we would be able to gather a suitable number and variety of cars and bikes, but we ended up with 46 very cool entries.”


Participating cars, trucks and bikes competed for top honors in eight different categories, and judges had the difficult task of narrowing down the top three winners in each class. First through third place honors in each class were as follows:


First place Ryan Kanahele 2015 Toyota Tacoma
Second place Brian Seaman 2006 Nissan Xterra
Third place David Ayabe 1987 AMG M998


First place Sonny Suniga 1997 Honda Civic
Second place Jordan Locquias 2006 Acura RSX
Third place Tyler Shimauchi 2008 Honda Civic



First place Harold Mariani 2006 Santee Bobber
Second place Bruce Shimada 1989 Harley Softail
Third place Royce Williams 2014 Harley

Davidson Fat Boy


First place Christopher Silva 2005 Junior dragster
Second Place Danicka Suniga Junior dragster
Third place Christian Silva 2008 Junior dragster



First place Warren Tavares 1956 Volkswagen ragtop
Second place Lorelei Ramos 1959 Volkswagen convertible
Third place Bruno Ramos 1967 VX Manx


First place John Ishibashi 1968 Chevrolet Camaro
Second place Gerald Abiley 1966 Chevrolet Nova
Third place Thaddeus 1990 Mitsubish Tumbaga Eclipse


First place Clifford Pimental 1933 Ford Roadster
Second place Bruce Shimada 1972 Chevrolet Nova
Third place Robin Troche 1967 Chevrolet Camaro


First place Eugene Farias 1951 Chevrolet Styleline
Second place Keith Silva 1948 Ford Anglia
Third place Clyde Silva 1933 Willys Coupe

Winners were presented with trophies by Capt. Vincent Johnson, the commanding officer, Pacific Missile Range Facility, during an awards ceremony held at the show grounds. Johnson congratulated the winners and thanked all who participated to help make the event a success.

Kreisman said, “On March 25 we are planning our second annual Sunset Music Festival. We are still in the contracting phase for the bands, but it is going to be awesome. Of course, we have our annual third of July Independence Day concert with bands, food, fireworks and games. A good time will be had by all. We are also working on a mini-triathlon for sometime this fall.”

For photos of the car show and more information on PMRF, visit or

Photo illustration

Share and Enjoy:
  • Print
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Google Bookmarks
  • email
  • RSS

Category: Life & Leisure